Scripture In A Picture – Matthew 7:24-27

I found this picture startling and when I saw it this passage from Matthew 7:24-27 immediately came to my mind.

“Anyone who listens to my teaching and follows it is wise, like a person who builds a house on solid rock.  Though the rain comes in torrents and the floodwaters rise and the winds beat against that house, it won’t collapse because it is built on bedrock.  But anyone who hears my teaching and doesn’t obey it is foolish, like a person who builds a house on sand. When the rains and floods come and the winds beat against that house, it will collapse with a mighty crash.”

This building collapsed in Eastern Shanghai, China, in June of 2009 obviously poor construction was to blame.

Image Credit

“In Jesus’ illustration of the two builders, each house looked the same from the outside. The real foundation of our life is usually hidden and is only proven in the storm, and we could say that the storms come from both heaven (rain) and earth (floods).”

Jesus said that in this life we will have trouble and trouble is no respecter of persons.  The Bible also describes Jesus as a Rock, “For no one can lay any foundation other than the one we already have—Jesus Christ.”  In my life I have found Him the only true foundation I can truly build on.

What foundation are you building on?

This entry was posted in Life, Scripture In A Picture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scripture In A Picture – Matthew 7:24-27

  1. Made me think! A fine example too.. thanks for this Peter.

  2. Thanks Hindupur, I couldn’t get past this picture it really stuck with me.

Leave a Reply

