Training For My First Marathon

(Image Credit)

This title is actually a bit misleading.  Have you ever been in this situation?  You buy something used and people ask if it’s new and you say something like, “It’s new to me.”  In that same spirit, running a 5 K is like running a marathon to me.  My body was never made for long-distance running.  When I was a kid I was competitive in the 100 yard dash and that was about it.

When I was in Junior High I decided to try out for the Boys Cross Country Team.  Where did this demonic thought come from?  I have no idea!! It was not peer pressure or trying to impress a girl, which at least would make some sense.

Where I grew up was a great training ground for cross-country because Corner Brook is all hills.  When we said we were, “Going downtown”.  This was a figurative as well as literal statement.  Our school was on “the heights” and if you did a 360 from the parking lot all was downhill.  This gave us an advantage because after running hills for training , the competition was in Stephenville which was like running on the Prairies.

On that fateful afternoon,  I headed out with the team and soon found that I was running by myself but that was not unexpected.  After the run I felt great, I went to my locker and made the 2 mile walk home. (Yes, it was mostly downhill)

I got home and then it hit me, my legs were killing me.  So I figured I would put on some A535 to take the edge off.  Being a guy I didn’t read the instructions and my Jr. High mind said, “The worse the pain the more you should put on.”  I put that stuff on thick like a fair-skinned red-head would put on sunblock while on vacation.  For a millisecond all was well and then, all the hair on my legs stood at attention and every nerve ending started screaming FIRE!!  FIRE!! It was burning so much I was afraid the couch was going to catch on fire.

(Image Credit)

It was the closest I have ever come to spontaneous combustion.  As you can imagine that was the end of my cross-country career.

However, as you get older you start thinking about your health more and I have many friends who jog so I thought I would give it another try. So, two years ago I downloaded an app for my iPhone called Couch Potato to 5K

(Image Credit)

My first year I made it to 4 1/2K  before I gave up but the psychological wall was broken and I knew at least in theory that I could actually do the 5K.  Last summer I actually hit 5K twice, then I went on vacation and when I came back I couldn’t do 2K without having to stop for a rest.

You have to understand that I do not like running at all.  I do it because it is good for me and truth me told when I run I have less aches and pains than when I sit around and do nothing.  I have never experienced the “runners high”, the only “high” I experience is when I out am running and the old lady with the cane passes me and says “Hi, how are you?”

This year is going to be different, I have a purpose to run.  On, June 9th, I am running in  Running 4 Home Durham which is raising money for Habitat For Humanity.  A couple of years ago our church participated in a Habitat build in Oshawa and it was great.

Having trouble attaining a goal?  Check your motivation.  For instance, if you can’t  eat healthy for yourself do it to set a good example for your kids.  Running to raise money for others is far more motivating for me than because I know I need the exercise.

I will keep you updated on my progress and if you would like to donate to Habitat then please do, that would be an added bonus for me.

What motivates you to keep going?

This entry was posted in Humour, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Training For My First Marathon

  1. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Good luck on your runs, I’m sure you will do great. 😀

    • Thanks it’s been way above normal temperatures for the past couple of weeks and now we are below normal. I am a fair weather runner so the temperatures say I will just get in one run this week.

  2. Sean's Door says:

    Hello
    Best of luck, I’m currently creating an app called couch potato to the fridge, I’ll keep you up dated on how that goes. I also had a bad run in with A535; I did not read the instructions and after applying it to my sore legs I went to the washroom. FYI always wash your hands right after you use the stuff.

Leave a Reply

