I Put My Foot In Your Mouth, Now What?

We all at times suffer from “Foot in the Mouth Disease”.  Many times the slip is a cause of laughter for those listening.

However, sometimes the comments are not as humorous and even though not intended to be hurtful they are.  On many Sunday afternoons during my College days after church we headed to the arena to watch the Thunder Bay Twins play hockey.  One particular afternoon we sat directly behind a very, very annoying Twins fan with a cow bell.  She shook that thing like there was no tomorrow.  This lady was so over the top I felt like cheering for the opposing team but kept my loyalties in check.  However, the cow bell drove me along with everyone else crazy.   I don’t know which period it was but I had had enough and yelled “Send the cows back to pasture!!!”

Needless to say that didn’t go over so well with the lady.  It went over well with everyone else but not her.  It didn’t take me long to get my foot out of my mouth and try to apologize but the damage was already done.  I certainly felt bad.  I know what the Word says:

People who watch their mouths
guard their lives,
but those who open their lips are ruined. (Proverbs 13:3)

Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger; (James 1:19)

What do yo do when you put your foot in  your mouth?  Donald Miller has 7 suggestions including 1) Move fast.  Don’t let anything get out of hand.  2) Admit guilt – read more here

(Image Credit)

Foot in the mouth disease is preventable, THINK BEFORE YOU SPEAK.

Pleasant words are flowing honey, sweet to the taste and healing to the bones. (Proverbs 16:24)

As an extra bonus here are some thoughts on keeping your foot out of your mouth when it comes to tweeting from pastors.com

This entry was posted in Humour, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Put My Foot In Your Mouth, Now What?

  1. Off The Cuff says:

    Hello
    I can only imagine the jokes that were said at Ross Perot expence on that one.
    I wonder if that little midget ever accepted the Lord?
    I really miss George Bush, some comics had nothing after his term was up.
    The cow bell story was great. There was a guy at a Toronto Marlies game with an improvised bell, he killed that thing during evry power play and attack on net, it was too much.
    All the best
    Sean

Leave a Reply

