I Almost Blew Our 22nd Anniversary

Many of you are familiar with sites like Groupon and Living Social.  I have purchased items from these groups and have been very pleased with the results.  So when I saw a great deal on a hotel stay regularly $149 for $49 I grabbed it up.  The hotel was a historic building which I love and I thought it would be a great treat for our anniversary, however, I was wrong.  When I went to book the room I decided to take a look at the TripAdvisor comments and my heart began to sink.

“Low class accommodation in bad end of city”

“One tiny window half obstructed by a/c unit. Had to stand on bed to look out window. Bed was hard as a rock with two well worn pillows. The bathroom was so tiny that to get in I had to stand with my back to the sink after entering and open the door past my toes in order to move toward the toilet. A person of size would never get into the bathroom . Relatively clean. Would never ever stay here again. Very pleasant desk staff . I am totally surprised by the room photos they show on their site. Stay away unless you want a hostel and not a hotel”
Traveler rating
Excellent 13
Very good 37
Average 27
Poor 11
Terrible 21

So I had to come up with a plan B,  I decided to book on one of those sites which gives you the Hotel Star number but not the hotel name until after you put your cash down.  It worked fine for me and we ended up at the Sheraton in downtown Toronto.  A friend of mine works for the same chain and got us an upgrade which was wonderful.  It gave us access to the Club Lounge which made us feel all “fancy”:)  The view was great as you can see.

If you not lucky enough to  have a friend to get you an upgrade here are some  hints for you.

Once the hotel was taken care of the rest was like clockwork.  We decided to go to Kensington Market, which we had not visited in about 10 years.  The place is a bit of a throw back in time and the people watching is just as interesting as the stores.  We saw a lady gently carrying what I thought was her pet dog but turned out to be her pet rabbit.  Then we saw two guys who if they are not in the stage play “Rock of Ages”  then they must be related to Peter Frampton!! Shirts unbuttoned down to their waist, tight jeans and long flowing hair down their backs.

They were great and so was the art work.

All in all what could have been a disaster turned out to be a wonderful anniversary.  Thank you TripAdvisor for saving my weekend.  Remember BUYER BEWARE!!!!

Pictures 1, 2

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Almost Blew Our 22nd Anniversary

  1. samestoy says:

    Hi,
    I am writing a book called “So…How Did You Meet Anyway?” It is a collection of all types of people’s “how we met” stories.
    I have posted the stories which have been sent in on;
    So…How Did You Meet Anyway?
    http://wwwsohowdidyoumeet.blogspot.com/
    I am always shopping for stories and I would like to add yours. Please check out the site, and if you would like to contribute your “how we met” story contact me at;
    susan.amestoy@gmail.com
    And if you would like any more information about the blog or the upcoming book, here is a link to a television interview I did recently.
    http://www.wcax.com/story/14708398/author-collecting-love-stories

    Take care and…congratulations!
    Susan

Leave a Reply

