This Pastor Needs Joel Osteen Happiness Training

Everyone you meet probably has their own opinion on Joel Osteen and his preaching.  Be that as it may there is one thing you cannot argue about, the guy is happy when he speaks.  Annoying so, for many people.  However, better a happy preacher than a mean one.  I think this guy could take sensitivity training from the always smiling preacher.

Pictures 1

This entry was posted in For Pastors, Humour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to This Pastor Needs Joel Osteen Happiness Training

  1. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    I am stunned, I just can’t believe what I just saw. Sensitivity training and training in patience I feel.

    • I was stunned also, I would be lying if I told you there were not times I left like chucking someone’s cell phone but the Bible says, “yield not to temptation”:)

  2. Martin says:

    My issues with Osteen have nothing to do with how cheerful he is. He is cheerfully ignorant to a frightening degree. Every time I hear that he went out to be interviewed I have to ask, “what has that boy done now?” If he goes on CNN or those other channels he should at least know what he believes in, and stop trying to not rock the boat. Instead what he says comes across as trying to please man and leads many unsuspecting people down a very very broad road. His theology is sketchy. as exemplified most recently by saying that there really is no fundamental difference between Mormons and Christianity. I was actually writing up a piece on my blog about it before I had to replace my laptop. As for the guy in the video: that phone was really loud wasn’t it? I wonder who posted that online, and for what purpose: because it probably has reinforced some negative attitudes about Christians and thus Christ, although some of the comments to the video by pastors said that they want to do that sometimes.

  3. Bel says:

    I personally would stop and give a reminder for people to make sure their cell phones are off/on silent or make a joke about it as I’ve heard other preachers do. I also hope that preacher replaced the cell phone that he probably broke by throwing it on the ground. Such an example of the love he was preaching about isn’t it? Also one never knows why someone would be talking on the cell phone (quietly it would seem as we never heard the person on the phone). There could have been an ill/dying family member they were waiting for word on or some other emergency. While I may not be as happy as Olsteen all the time, I would hope that I remain caring, sensitive and loving when I am preaching.

    • You are right there can always be an extreme circumstance but the best way to handle situations like this is to be proactive and like you said as at the beginning of the service for people to turn their phone off.

  4. Bel says:

    When I am preaching I would hope that I would stop and give a reminder for people to make sure their cell phones are off/on silent or make a joke about it as I’ve heard other preachers do. I also hope that preacher replaced the cell phone that he probably broke by throwing it on the ground. Such an example of the love he was preaching about isn’t it? I may not always be as happy as Joel Olsteen though I would hope that I am sensitive, loving and a positive example of Christ not only when I preach but also in my every day living.

  5. Off The Cuff says:

    Hello Peter
    Did you notice that there are no men in front of the angry preacher. Although I keep my phone on vibrate in church, if he did that to my cell phone he would have been laid out in the spirit. Joel would have handled it much more differently, it might have gone something like “when that phone rang, I felt we all should pause and think that maybe God wants us to reach out and touch someone”

Leave a Reply

