What Not To Say When Someone Has Cancer

 

I was 22 years old when my mom died of cancer she was only 54.   My dad died of a brain tumor a couple of years ago at age 69.  They both died too early and I miss them greatly.  (Let me get pastoral for a moment –  As a Christian I felt the loss of my parents but I am not without hope. Scripture says that Jesus gives eternal life and I have the hope of seeing my parents again because they followed Him.)

 

What do you say to someone who has cancer?  Even as a minister the words do not come easy.  We all want to say something comforting and encouraging but often we struggle to find the right words.

However, far worse than stumbling over our words is not realizing that what we think may be comforting may actually be discomforting and even worse insensitive.

Jon Acuff is a blogger and recently he had a guest post by Tracey Solomon about What Not To Say When Someone Has Cancer

There is some great advice here that I think we all need to remember.  Sometimes the best thing you can do is just “be” with the person because many many times people will not remember what you say but they will remember how you made them feel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.jonacuff.com/stuffchristianslike/2012/06/what-not-to-say/

 

 

 

http://www.iapr.ca/cancer-researchcell-biol-newsgroup/

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Not To Say When Someone Has Cancer

  1. I think it was very good to share this. I, for one, wouldn’t even know where to begin. Thank you for sharing this!!

Leave a Reply

