Pictures From My First 5k

After training since March the big day was finally upon me.  I was going to participate in the Running 4 Home – 5 /10K , run, walk and hobble for Habitat For Humanity.

Pastor Jonathan Manafo and his team did a great job of organizing the event.  This is the third year for the run, last year they had 50 participants, this year the number jumped to  250!!! Lots of money raised for a great cause.

This was my first “official” run and it was a lot of fun.  Knowing how slow I run I stayed near the back so as not to be a “speed bump” for real runners.

One of the biggest inspirations of the day was a group of young girls and their coaches who ran that morning.  They would run for 10 minutes than take a break and run again.  The sad part for me was that many of the girls in this picture finished the race long before I did:)  (I am great at building the self-esteem of others:)

Here’s my big moment crossing the finish line!!!  Still had some gas left in the tank so I know I can beat my time the next time around.

Here’s a picture of me being a good dad and watching like the father of the Prodigal Son for his son to come home.  We started the race together but I finished before Ian.  That may have something to do with the fact I ran 5k and he ran 10k.

You hear the line all the time, “If I can do it you can too!!”  In this case it’s the absolute truth.  I really don’t like running and have never had the joggers “high” but the challenge was there and the cause was great so it was worth the effort.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pictures From My First 5k

  1. Bel says:

    That was a great thing you did for a great cause. I knew you could do it. I am very proud of you (and your son). I know I could not do it and still be standing afterwards LOL Way to go Peter!!

  2. magsx2 says:

    Hi,
    Congratulations, and it looks like it was a fun day for everyone, I love your photos, seems their were a lot of people there and the best thing of all was that is was all for a very good cause. 🙂

Leave a Reply

